All Banks Will Be Closed For These 15 Days In August, 2021: Full List Of Bank Holidays

All Banks Will Be Closed For These 15 Days In August, 2021: Full List Of Bank Holidays
All Banks Will Be Closed For These 15 Days In August, 2021: Full List Of Bank Holidays

In the blink of an eye, July 2021 has ended and August will soon begin. As usual, the Reserve Bank of India has released a list of all the days on which banks will remain closed.

The notification by the apex bank states that public and private banking operations will remain closed for a total of 15 days in the upcoming month, including second Saturdays and Sundays.

Remember, if you have any work with your bank, be sure to avoid these days to visit the bank. 

There will be eight bank holidays in August 2021, and this does not include the weekends. These include – Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.

However, bank holidays will differ from state to state across India as per the different holidays in each state. Additionally, not all the holidays are observed by all the banking companies.

Complete List Of Bank Holidays In August 2021

Here’s a complete list of bank holidays in August:

Saturdays and Sundays:

  • August 1: Sunday
  • August 8: Sunday
  • August 14: 2nd Saturday
  • August 15: Sunday
  • August 22: Sunday
  • August 28: 4th Saturday
  • August 29: Sunday

Festival Holidays in August:

  • 13 August 2021 Friday Patriot’s Day
  • 16 August 2021 Monday Parse New Year
  • 19 August 2021 Thursday Muharram (Ashoora)
  • 20 August 2021 Friday Muharram/First Onam
  • 21 August 2021 Saturday Thiruvonam
  • 23 August 2021 Monday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanthi
  • 30  August 2021 Monday Janmashtami (Shravan Vad-8)/Krishna Jayanthi
  • 31 August 2021 Tuesday Sri Krishna Ashtami

Both Independence Day and Rakshabandhan are on a Sunday, therefore there wont be any additional holidays for these two occasions.

A bank holiday is scheduled on Parse New Year (Shahenshahi) on August 16, 2021, only in Belapur, Mumbai, and Nagpur.

Similarly, Muharram (Ashoora) on August 19, 2021, will be a bank holiday in Agartala, Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bhopal, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, and Srinagar.

Long Weekends

You can make your plans to travel on the long weekends in August, which occur thrice: August 13-16, August 19-23, and August 28-31

Also, even though the banks will be closed for offline operations on the holidays mentioned above, online banking activities will still take place as usual.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online