Confused Between Whatsapp Disappearing Message & View-Once Message? Here’s The Difference (Fully Explained)
WhatsApp has come a long way since it was founded in 2009. From just being an instant messaging app it has now become a multipurpose app that lets you see the world across the planet just with a click on a video call.
Facebook, the parent company of WhatsApp is known for its entrepreneurial spirit. It keeps on adding new features to its products and services. The company recently came up with two new features which have made a lot of millennials and Gen-Z users excited.
WhatsApp adds two new features
Recently WhatsApp has been updated and it now has two new exciting features called, Disappearing Images and View Once.
The disappearing images feature is meant for messages. The feature once enabled, will allow messages to automatically disappear after 7 days. This applies to media files as well. But if you have enabled auto-download, the media files will be available in your mobile’s media storage.
Another feature of View Once seems to be inspired by Snapchat. Just like in Snapchat, the messages and media files are deleted once they are opened by the receiver, now WhatsApp media can also be shared using this feature. Once viewed by the intended viewer, the media files will be deleted forever.
Key Things about both the features are as follows
1. If a user does not open WhatsApp in the period of seven days, they will be deleted. Notification preview might be visible, till the time WhatsApp is opened.
2. Disappearing Message won’t be deleted if someone has replied to it.
3. The disappearing messages might be included in the backup if the user has stored them somewhere. Those will be deleted, once the backup is restored.
4. These messages can be forwarded and saved before they are deleted.
1. Media files shared using this feature can not be saved, forwarded, starred or shared.
2. If these media files are opened within 14 days, they will automatically expire.
3. If the shared messages/media files are unopened, they will be included in the backup.