WhatsApp Will Stop Users From Reading, Sending Messages After May 15, If They Don’t Do This
As Of Now Applicable To Business Accounts, Not Personal Accounts
Options That Users Have
In short, users are going to have two options:
Give in and accept the new privacy policies.
2. Download your chat history and move to another messaging app.
WhatsApp stated that WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity in order to maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of users.
However, it said that prior to account deletion, content stored locally on a user’s device shall remain intact till WhatsApp is deleted. Once the user reregisters for WhatsApp on the same device, their locally stored content will reappear. However, we will have to wait for more clarity if the accounts will be deleted or not.
Also, the messaging platform is assuring its users that their personal data is not being shared with its parent company, Facebook.
Whatsapp, in its announcement, clarified that they charge businesses to provide “customer service” on the app in order to provide WhatsApp for free. It provides customer service and also gets Facebook involved so that businesses can manage their inventory across apps.
Though some users are outraged by this move, it is important for us to know that in the tech world, if you use an app for free then most probably you are paying for it with your data.