To start with, the company has again said all the private messages are end-to-end encrypted and the servers are not keeping any logs of messages or data.
In the clarification, WhatsApp said it only implies to messaging a business account on WhatsApp, and not an individual user.
As WhatsApp made it mandatory for users to agree to the new terms or delete their WhatsApp account, millions of users outraged. Even the world’s richest man Elon Musk asked users to use Signal instead, followed by Paytm CEO Vijay Shekhar Sharma and then Edward Snowden, the historic CIA whistleblower.
Since users readily started to move to secure WhatsApp alternatives as Signal and Telegram. In response, WhatsApp came up with seven clarifications of its key privacy policies which are being misunderstood by the public at large.
- The update only is applicable to messages sent to a business account on WhatsApp.
- The private messages are still end-to-end encrypted and WhatsApp did not and will not keep logs of any messages or calls.
- WhatsApp nor Facebook can see your shared location.
- WhatsApp groups will remain private and users can set messages to disappear.
- Users communicating with a business account, either by phone, email or WhatsApp, the platform can see what you’re saying and may use it for marketing purposes
- WhatsApp will label conversations with businesses that are choosing to use hosting services from Facebook.
WhatsApp also confirmed that the new features as Shopping on Facebook or Instagram, and their cross-platform support is optional and will be informing users in the app how the private data is being shared with Facebook. Also, Facebook will have the ‘message a business using WhatsApp’ button below an ad so that interested buyers can directly interact with a business.