These 10 Indian Cities Will Have Bullet Trains; Mumbai To Delhi In 12 Hours Via Expressway?

Commute in India will now be definitely be easier!

10 Indian Cities Will Have Bullet Trains
10 Indian Cities Will Have Bullet Trains

Indian Railways is planning to extend the network of India’s bullet train. The Indian Railways has asked the National High-Speed Rail Corporation Limited (NHSRCL), which is working on the country’s first bullet train if adding ten more bullet train corridors would be possible.

Read on to know all about this new development for the bullet train!

Ten More Routes Added

The Board of Indian Railways plans to conduct a survey to enhance the possibility of the trains running the bullet train on ten routes. Meetings are being held and discussions taking place to make finalize the four routes. The possibility of the train running for 10 more routes is dependent on which firm the NHSRCL decides. They would make a Detailed Project Report (DPR) to prepare a feasibility report.

If ten more routes are added, the total distance that the bullet trains will run is nearly 6000 kilometers. Additionally, 6 routes have been set aside for the bullet trains. 

As per reports, the bullet trains are set to run between New Delhi-Amritsar, New Delhi-Varanasi, New Delhi-Kolkata, Patna-Kolkata, New Delhi-Mumbai, Chennai-Bengaluru routes. Now, the Railway Board is planning to connect the national capital, Delhi to Varanasi, through Delhi-Lucknow via Kanpur and Lucknow-Varanasi via Sultanpur route.

The cost of the project will probably go around to Rs. 10 lakh crores.

Delhi-Mumbai Commute in 12 Hours By Road!

While the Indian Railways is looking to expand its perimeter, the road travel is not very far off in progressing for the citizen’s comfort of the commute. The new Delhi-Mumbai expressway is planning to build a new expressway that will lessen the time taken to travel between the two cities to as much as 12 hours only!

As per the statement provided by the Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, the expressway will be open for public use within 30 to 36 months from the commencement of its construction. Apparently, this new development is a part of the 42,000 kilometers of economic corridors project named Bharatmala Pariyojana initiated by the Modi Government.

This expressway, which will be called Delhi-Mumbai Greenfield Expressway, will connect Delhi and Mumbai via Jaipur and Vadodara. The route that will be followed by the expressway starts with Delhi and from Delhi, it follows this route: Gurugram – Mewat – Kota – Ratlam – Godhra – Vadodara – Surat – Dahisar – Mumbai.

There will be a total of eight lanes for this expressway and will be access controlled. Also, it will be directly connected to Delhi’s Indira Gandhi International Airport Terminal 3 via a 5-km long tunnel.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online