Indian Tourism Gets A Big Push. Visa-On-Arrival For 43 Nationalities, E-Visa Approval In 96 Hours!


Indian tourism industry will never be the same again. In a historic decision, Indian government has now allowed visa on arrival for citizens from 43 countries, who can make an entry at any one of the designated 9 international airports in India.

Indian Association of Tour Operators President Subhas Goyal said, “It would be a historic occasion for the tourism sector as we were demanding this facility for long. The launching of e-visa system for so many countries would boost the industry,”

Visa on Arrival India


Complete list of countries allowed visa on arrival

Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

The nine International airports where in facility has been approved are: Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram and Goa

Ministry of Tourism has launched a dedicated website for allocating visa on arrival via this website:

A Defining Moment for Indian Tourism

As per Subhash Goyal, their association has been arguing and demanding about this facility since last 25 years, but the new government has taken the decision within 5 months. He said, “I’ve been fighting for this [type of visa] for 20 years.. This government’s response has been unbelievably fast.”

Visa on Arrival is the most sought after way to tourists as they are not required to go through the tiresome process of visiting the embassy and then waiting for the approval.

From January to October, 20014, Ministry of Tourism issued 22000 visa on arrival, whereas only 16000 were issued for the same period last year, showcasing a jump of 39.5%. And the demand for this facility is only going up. Post this major decision, the inflow of foreign tourists, especially from countries like USA, Australia, Russia, UAE and Japan.

How To Apply For e-Visa?

Citizens from these countries only need $60 as service charges, a valid passport (valid for atleast 6 months) and a photograph. The documents along with an application form needs to be uploaded on the official website and the e-Visa would be delivered on your email within 96 hours. The payment can be electronically made via debit/credit card.

Tourist Visa Application process

Terms and Conditions

As per the website, the tourist who is applying for the visa on arrival facility would only be granted visa if, “sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sight seeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit”.

The visa cannot be extended and one person can only apply for this facility twice in one year.

In case of any issues while applying, Ministry of Tourism can be reached at +91-11-24300666 or email [email protected].

Barring these countries: Pakistan, Sudan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Sri Lanka and Somalia; visa on arrival facility would be rolled to all the countries in the next 2 years.

Do you believe that easing the visa rule for citizens from 43 nations can hamper our security cover? Or the economic benefits derived from such relaxation of rules can offset any such dangers posed by terrorists who can enter India easily, under the garb of visa on arrival? Do share your views by commenting right here!

  1. […] 2014, Indian Govt. had literally opened up the tourism sector by adding several countries in the list of visa on arrival, and introducing the new, technology […]

  2. […] Government had changed its visa on arrival policy last year, when visa on arrival facility was extended to 43 nationalities, along with speedy e-visa facility which ensured approved visa within 96 […]

  3. Ashish says

    This is a great decision by govt of India. However, it is not ‘visa on arrival’ as frequently being described, it is e-Visa or ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization)

    Visa on arrival is for example, how it is done by Bali, Indonesia. You literally show up without any paperwork and pay the visa fees and get a visa sticker on your passport.

  4. pravi says

    Where is CANADA?

  5. APN r says

    there is a typo

  6. Maya says

    Thank u Mohul Ghosh…

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

who's online