Delhi Has Maximum Fake Universities; UGC Names These 21 Fake Universities In Delhi, UP, Bihar

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has named 24 “self-styled” fake universities and has found two more in violation of norms.

Delhi Has Maximum Fake Universities; UGC Names These 21 Fake Universities In Delhi, UP, Bihar

The state-wise details are available on UGC’s website



Delhi has the highest fake universities at eight.

They are-

  • All India Institute of Public & Physical Health Sciences
  • Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj
  • United Nations University
  • Vocational University
  • ADR-Centric Juridical University
  • Indian Institution of Science and Engineering
  • Viswakarma Open University for Self-employment
  • Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University).

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh has the following fake universities-

  • Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith
  • National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy
  • Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (open university)
  • Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad. 

Such universities also exist in Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Odisha, Puducherry and Andhra Pradesh.


Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society


St. John’s University, Kishanattam


Raja Arabic University, Nagpur

West Bengal

  • Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine
  • Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research


  • 18. Nababharat Shiksha Parishad
  • North Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology


Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education

Andhra Pradesh

Christ New Testament Deemed University

Illegal degrees

The official document explains that the named universities are unrecognized and are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act.

As such they have been declared as fake universities and the public should beware that they are not empowered to confer any degree.

Qualifications for university recognition

The notice detailed how an institution is deemed a university:

  • “(1) The right of conferring or granting degrees shall be exercised only by a University established or incorporated by or under a Central Act, a Provincial Act or a State Act or an institution deemed to be a University under Section 3 or an institution specially empowered by an Act of Parliament to confer or grant degrees.
  • (2) Save as provided in sub-Section (1), no person or authority shall confer, or grant, or hold himself or itself out as entitled to confer or grant, any degree……”
  • Section 23 of the UGC Act prohibits the use of the word ‘University’ by any institution other than a university established as stated above.”

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online