Govt Issues New Rules For These International Passengers: RT-PCR Compulsory & More

Govt Issues New Rules For These International Passengers: RT-PCR Compulsory & More
Govt Issues New Rules For These International Passengers: RT-PCR Compulsory & More

With effect from December 1, the Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare issued new guidelines on November 28, for international travellers arriving in India considering the rising concern for new coronavirus variant Omicron. 


New Rules For Traveling

According to this latest development, now, passengers travelling from or transiting through “at-risk” countries have to undergo RT-PCR test on arrival in India. 

They will be required to wait for the results before leaving the airport or taking a connecting flight.

These new protocols have to be complied with by international travellers as well as those to be followed by airlines, points of entry including airports, seaports and land border for risk profiling of passengers.

At Risk Countries

Apart from this, the government also issued a list of 12 countries. 

From these countries, travellers would need to follow additional measures on arrival in India including post-arrival testing. 

 The list includes countries like the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh,  Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel.

The travellers from these countries will have to wait for their test results at arrival airport before leaving or taking a flight. 

In case the test is found negative then they will have to be quarantined for 7 days. 

On completion of the 8th day, a second test will be conducted.

If tested negative then the passengers will have to self monitor for 7 days.

The passengers, who tested positive shall be managed at a separate isolation facility.

As per the added guidelines, their samples should be sent to INSACOG further.

While the contacts of positive patients will be kept under institutional or home quarantine.

Guidelines To Be Followed By All Passengers

It is noteworthy here that the government in its guidelines mentioned clearly that all arriving passengers will have to undergo the same protocol as applied for passenger form ‘at risk’ and non-risk countries.

 On arrival, the passengers will have to submit the self-declaration form to the concerned authorities of Government of India at seaports or land ports.

Self Declaration Form By Passengers

Now, all new passengers, who are planning to travel, must submit a self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal before the scheduled travel, including last 14 days travel as per the new document. 

They will also have to upload a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report in the portal.

The test should have been conducted within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey along with a declaration with respect to authenticity of the report and will be liable for criminal prosecution.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online