All Your Whatsapp Chats Will Be Auto-Deleted By Default! How To Turn On This Feature?
Whatsapp is rolling out a feature which would allow users to decide how long a chat can stay up.
How It Works
Users will now get the option to turn on disappearing messages by default for all new chats.
After selecting this feature, all new one-on-one chats the user or another person starts will disappear at the chosen duration.
A new option to enable the feature for groups has also been added.
The disappearing messages feature was introduced in November last year which automatically deleted chats after 7 days.
Now, two duration options have been added: 24 hours and 90 days, along with the existing 7-day option.
What Happens After Selecting Option
The disappearing messages feature can also be turned on for all new individual chats by default.
Earlier, it had to be done manually.
When selecting the option, a message will show in their chats telling the same to the people, so they know it’s nothing personal.
If a user wants a conversation to stay permanent, the option for that particular chat can be deselected.
For Group Chats
The disappearing messages feature can be turned on for new group chats as well.
Be it an individual chat or a group chat, users can turn disappearing messages on or off.
However in the case of groups, the admin has the power to change group settings to allow only admins to turn disappearing messages on or off.
Revert To Original Settings Anytime
The feature is optional and does not change or delete any existing chats.
The user has the option of turning the setting off for individual chats.
To enable it on iPhone and Android devices, navigate to WhatsApp’s Settings > Account > Privacy > Default message timer menu and select the duration.