Google’s Biggest Privacy Push: Auto-Delete Of Web, App, Location Data, Youtube Search For New Users

Google's Biggest Privacy Push: Auto-Delete Of Web, App, Location Data, Youtube Search For New Users
Google’s Biggest Privacy Push: Auto-Delete Of Web, App, Location Data, Youtube Search For New Users

Search engine giant, Google has disclosed a new development, where it will let users control their privacy. Google doesn’t have much of a reputation when it comes to gathering data about people. However this does come as a great news! 

Let’s find out what changes Google is planning to make right here!

Google CEO Sundar Pichai Announces New Developments Regarding Privacy

The new developments have when announced by the CEO of Google Sundar Pichai. He said that there will be a lot of privacy improvements included in the platform that well enables users to control the data that they’re sharing. 

Previously Google had enabled users to delete this data automatically every 3 months or 18 months. As per the new development, this feature can be enabled by default for any new users. 

As we all know, Google registers all the Search history, YouTube history, location history, and voice commands made through Google Assistant on the My Activity page. 

Google CEO, Sundar Pichai said, “As we design our products, we focus on three important principles: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control. Today, we are announcing privacy improvements to help do that, including changes to our data retention practices across our core products to keep less data by default.”

How Does Google’s New Feature Work? All You Need To Know

When any Google user turns on their Location History for the first time, the auto delete option will be set to 18 months by default. Previously, this was off by default. Additionally, Web and App Activity auto delete will also default to 18 months for any new users.

In simple words, the data of your activity will be deleted after 18 months automatically and continuously, which was previously stored until you chose to delete it. 

Remember that you can turn these settings off or also change your auto-delete option whenever you want. 

However, if the Location History and Web and App Activity has already been turned on by the user that will not be changed by Google. But, the company will remind its users about the new auto delete control features via notifications and mail.

As per Pichai, when a user signs into their Google Account, they will be able to search for  “Google Privacy Checkup” and “Is my Google Account secure?” Their query will be answered by a box that will be visible only to the user which will show privacy and security settings. Additionally, these can be easily reviewed or adjusted as well.

"Google's Biggest Privacy Push: Auto-Delete Of Web, App, Location Data, Youtube Search For New Users", 5 out of 5 based on 1 ratings.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online