UP Govt’s Anti-Corruption Drive: 1000 Govt. Officers Are Now Jobless; IAS Officers Are Forced To Retire By UP Govt.

UP Govt's Anti-Corruption Drive: 1000 Govt. Officers Are Now Jobless; IAS Officers Are Forced To Retire By UP Govt.
UP Govt’s Anti-Corruption Drive: 1000 Govt. Officers Are Now Jobless; IAS Officers Are Forced To Retire By UP Govt.

If you think that getting into a government job means doing as you like and not contributing towards the well being of the country, you might want to reconsider your train of thoughts. In July, we covered an article on how the NaMo government had officially retired or recommended compulsory retirement of 312 government officers, belonging to Group ‘A’ and Group ‘B’ services, since July 2014 to May 2019.

The government took this step to remove all those officers, registered with complaints and corruption cases pending against them. 27 senior officials, including principal and chief commissioners in the tax department were forced to retire on June of this year, on account of complaints and corruption cases pending against them.

Now, what’s topping this is the reports that have fled in from the UP government. It turns out that Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s government has left more than 1,000 government employees in various ‘cadres’ as jobless.

Yogi Adityanath’s ‘Zero-Tolerance for Corruption’ Policy

The UP CM has rendered more than 1000 of his government employees of different cadres, jobless on ‘inefficient and corrupt’ officers in the state government. His ‘zero-tolerance for corruption‘ policy has swept many government official off of their jobs in the state.

The most recent victim of this policy is IAS Rajiv Kumar, who has been served a notice of forced retirement. The 1983 batch IAS officer has faced serious charges of corruption in Noida and even had a stint in jail.

As per sources in the Chief Minister’s Secretariat, the CM has retired 37 employees in various cadres in the Transport Department, 36 in the Revenue Department and 26 in the Basic Education Department.

Apart from this, 25 officials in the Panchayati Raj Department, 18 in the Public Works Department, 16 each in the Labour Department, Institutional Finance and 16 in Commercial Tax Department have been sent into forced retirement.

Five IAS officers, namely Shishir Priyadarshi (1980 batch), Atul Bagai (1983), Arun Arya (1985), Sanjay Bhatia (1990) and Rita Singh (1997) have already been ‘deemed resigned’ for overstaying their foreign assignments. 

The state government has also initiated action against officers of the Provincial Civil Services who have been placed under suspension. They include Ghanshyam Singh, Rajkumar Dwiwedi, Chhotelal Mishra, Anju Katiyar, Vijay Prakash Tiwari, Shailendra Kumar, Raj Kumar, Satyam Mishra, Devendra Kumar and Saujanya Kumar Vikas.

The list of PCS officers who’ve been terminated include Ashok Kumar Shukla, Ashok Kumar Lal, and Randhir Singh Duhan. Prabhu Dayal, on the other hand has been demoted from the post of sub-divisional magistrate to tehsildar, along with irish Chandra Srivastava.

More on the Government Policies that Few Know

  • According to disciplinary rules, the government has the right to proceed against corrupt officials on the basis of available evidence.
  • It has the absolute right to retire government officials on grounds of lack of integrity and ineffectiveness, according to the Fundamental Rules 56(j)(l), Rule 48 of Central Civil Services (CCS) Pension) Rules, 1972 and Rule 16(3) (Amended ) of All India Services (Death-cum-Retirement Benefits) [AIS(DCRB)] Rules, 1958. 
  • According to Pension Rules, the review of whether an official is fit to continue to work should happen “six months” before the official attains the age of 50 and 55 years.
  • The provision for “compulsory retirement” of officials in public interest was first notified by the government in 1969. Although the provisions existed, they were rarely used by previous governments, until 2014.
  • They were again brought back into circulation through a circular in March 2014.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online