Tourists Can Get 30 Days eVisa For Just Rs 700, Rs 2900 For A Year; Peak/Lean Season Will Have Different Rates

Tourism Ministry has proposed several changes to eVisa facility
Tourism Ministry has proposed several changes to eVisa facility

On following the footprint of “Atithi Devo Bhavo” , the Government has started working on promoting tourism in India. Several interesting initiatives have already been taken: Policy changes for visa on arrival and adding more countries to provide e-visa facility is just the start.

Tourism Ministry has now decided to take another big leap towards promoting tourism in India, and this can certainly encourage more foreigners to visit India, and experience the magic of our country.

Service charges for eVisa has now been reduced, and a new tariff has been released for peak and lean seasons, for different time durations.

Tourism Ministry has also announced that no visa fee will be applicable to 14 Pecific Island nations which belong to Forum for India–Pacific Islands Cooperation.

These are: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Also there will be policy reforms to reduce fees for 160 countries based on the footfall of tourists.

Short term e-Tourist Visa facility

Tourism Ministry has suggested new perspective for the countries to which India has extended e-visa facility. Introducing a short term visa for 30 days is a solid step in this regard.

Tourists can now get a short term e-visa, having one month validity, with a payment of $25 (Rs 1800) during peak seasons.

In India we consider peak season from July to March.

During this time the weather is quite pleasant for holidays. Also it has been suggested to reduce the visa fee to $10 (Rs 700) to attract tourists during the lean season.

Which is normally considered from April to June in india.

Long Duration e-Tourist visa proposal

According to Tourism ministry officials for nations to which india has extended e-visa facility will have to pay $40 for year duration and $80 for 5 years duration.

Whereas for countries like Japan, Singapore and Sri Lanka, a fee of $25 will be applicable for the duration of one year and five years.

Also a fee of $10 will be charged for short term 30 days e-visa during the lean season and while $25 will be charged during peak season.

Union Tourism Minister Mr Prahlad Patel said that these reforms are to stimulate the foreign tourism in India during the inauguration of a meeting with state government with representatives of tourism.

Both the ministry of external affairs (MEA) and Home ministry has given approval for these changes. 

We need to keep an eye on this segment to get further confirmation from the Ministry of Tourism.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

who's online