Who will be the Impact Person of the Year? [Event]


[Update: The results have been announced – Here is the Impact person of the year award coverage]

In just a few hours from now, top professionals, movers and shakers of the Media, Marketing and Advertising industry will converge upon a mid-Mumbai five star hotel, where  the results of a by-peers-and-fellow-professionals appraisal of eight media leaders of India will be announced.  And to do the honours, none other than the former Home Minster of India and current Governor of Punjab, Mr Shivraj V Patil, is flying down from Delhi.

Who will win the Impact Person of  the Year 2011 award is anybody’s guess, because of eight KOLs in the nominee list. These august gentlemen (what, no ladies? hmmm – are) in alphabetical order, Agnello Dias of TapRoot, Haresh Chawla of the Viacom 18 Group (though he’s recently put in his papers there), Madhukar Kamath of Mudra, Man Jit Singh of MSM (the company that runs SET, MAX, SAB, PIX and the new music channel MIX), Rajiv Verma of Hindustan Times Media Limited, Ronnie Screwvala, the Founder-Chairman of  the UTV Group, Sandeep Goyal, the big man of Dentsu, and Vineet Jain, the young veteran of the Times of India Group.



So it’s a great list for sure, and the industry is a-buzz, guessing who will win.  Will it be someone from a mega media conglomerate like a Times Group or an HT Media Ltd or an MSM or Viacom18 or UTV? Or, will the industry pick someone from the ‘other’ side – meaning, one of the agencies that mainline on the media vehicles of the former? The grapevine is rife with theories, and everyone of these nominees is a formidable one indeed.


And who selected these nominees? All the professionals from the Media marketplace, that’s who Each and every registered member of top Industry B2B website exchange4media.com. The shortlist of nominees and the ultimate winner of the Impact Person of the Year Award have been chosen by professionals from the industry through a robust three-stage selection process commandeered by IMRB International. So, even though the industry does covet this award, well… only the best man (this year, it’s only men) wins.


In case you want to know more about these eight leaders, well, here’s something that we received from the organizers of the awards, ie Impact Magazine from the e4m Group. Read on…


Profiles of the nominees for Impact Person of the Year 2011:


Agnello Dias, Chairman & Co-founder, TapRoot India:

A pioneer in the creative world for about two decades, Dias has won laurels on several international award platforms with winning stints at Leo Burnett and JWT. Over the years, he has become one of the most influential people in Indian advertising for reinstating faith in creative entrepreneurship in India. This advertising wordsmith is the brain behind the catchy Airtel jingle, Har Ek Friend Zaroori Hota Hai.


Haresh Chawla, Group CEO, Viacom18:

He has been with the Network18 Group for the last 10 years as Group CEO of Viacom18, and has driven unprecedented growth to put all brands in the Viacom18 Group (MTV, Nick, Vh1 and Studio18, Colors) in leadership positions. Under his leadership, both Network18 and the Viacom18 Group have reached out to more than 300 million households across multiple platforms  of television, print, films, mobile and Internet. With brands that reach out to all possible demographics, Viacom18 is today India’s leading multimedia entertainment platform.


Madhukar Kamath, MD & CEO, Mudra Group;

Under Kamat’s leadership, Mudra got transformed from an advertising agency into one of India’s leading Integrated Marketing Communications groups, with capitalized billings in the region of Rs 2,500 crore. A veteran of nearly 20 years in advertising and marketing communications, Kamath has led the company in its best years. He has actively participated in and led several industry bodies. He has served as President of the AAAI and Chairman of ASCI (The Advertising Standards Council of India). Currently, he is on the Board of ABC and was Chairman of the organizing committee for the recently concluded AdAsia 2011.


Man Jit Singh, CEO, Multi Screen Media (MSM):

Heading one of India’s largest broadcasting companies – Multi Screen Media (MSM), Singh has been the brain behind the remarkable revival of Sony Entertainment Television. He joined the SET India board from Diogenes Capital, LLC, a private equity fund in Los Angeles, California, where he was a Principal. Singh has held the CEO’s position in several companies. A robust network of SAB, Sony, Pix andMAX was created under his strong leadership. Today, these channels are among the most watched in the country.


Rajiv Verma, CEO, Hindustan Times Media Limited:

Under Verma’s leadership,  HT Media Ltd flagships, Hindustan Times and Hindustan,  have become two of the fastest growing publications of the country. After joining the Company as CEO in October 2004, Verma has provided the necessary leadership and direction required to achieve the company’s short- and long-term objectives. He brings with him over 24 years of cross-sector experience with reputed companies like Hindustan Lever, Nestle and Whirlpool. Verma’s international experience spans South East Asia and European geographies, with stints at Whirlpool in Thailand and Nestle in the Philippines and Switzerland.


Ronnie Screwvala, CEO and founder chairman of UTV Group:

Under Screwvala’s stewardship, UTV has moved to the top position in programming after its association with Walt Disney. A media giant and film producer, Screwvala has grabbed global attention for his ability to keep business interests in prime focus. Steering a successful partnership with global media giants, he has empowered UTV group on almost all available broadcasting platforms. Screwvala, who pioneered the country’s organised cable TV services, is also a known name in advertising, films and has been a pioneering television producer with such popular TV serials as Lifeline and Shanti.


Sandeep Goyal, Non-Executive Founder Chairman, Dentsu India:

The ad world sees Dentsu India as synonymous with its Founder-Chairman, Sandeep Goyal, who has seen the agency evolve from scratch. After partnership with Dentsu of Japan in 2003, he took Dentsu India to a new high. Goyal is the maker of campaigns such as HDFC Life Insurance’s Sar Utha Ke Jiyo and Aircel’s Save Our Tigers, which initiated crucial associations with marketers such as Aircel, Lavasa and IndiaBulls.


Vineet Jain, MD, Times Group:

Vineet Jain, MD of the Times Group, is credited with the rapid expansion of the group into television and Internet to complement the existing print publications. With him at the helm of affairs, the Times Group has sustained the leadership positions of The Times of India and Economic Timesbrands — the world’s largest English newspaper and second largest business paper respectively. Jain is responsible for growing the television business through recently launched channels like Times Now, Zoom, ET Now and Movies Now. Under his guidance, the Times Group continues with its leadership through innovation and differentiation.

[Note: This guest post has been written by Mr. Pavan R Chawla, Vice President — Media & Entertainment of Adfactors PR Pvt. Ltd.]


  1. Stocks Tips Intraday says

    All are great names and achievers. In my opinion any media related personality will win this as media has influenced each and every life

  2. siddhartha sinha says

    Rajiv Verma would win a big chance

  3. List Of Desi Models says

    In my opinion Ronnie Screwvala, CEO and founder chairman of UTV Group will be the impact person of the year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

who's online